This project is read-only.

Manual, SDK, or Guide?

Topics: Developer Forum
Jan 11, 2007 at 10:25 PM
Hi,

I was looking for a source code editor control that I can use to do custom syntax highlighting in a basic editor program for a project I'm doing. And I'm thinking this is what I'm looking for even if it's not quite complete yet.

I got the control to appear on my document form and open and save files (by looking at the example code in SCide). But I can't find where I would set my language or how to write a language file. Or how to configure different options on the control.

Is there a manual, sdk, or guide somewhere that I can read to learn what the control can do and how to do it? I haven't used the original Scintilla before, so I'm a complete noobie for the control.

Thanks!
Matt
Jan 12, 2007 at 8:03 PM
Searching around things and playing with it, I think I've figured out how it works. Maybe. So can anyone tell me if my conclusions are correct?

The Scintilla control uses a lexer to determine what color a word should be. There are several lexers already built in for the common languages (C, C++, C#, Java, etc), but if you want to do a custom language you have to write your own lexer dll (with some instructions at http://scintilla.sourceforge.net/Lexer.txt). Then once you have the lexer, you use the ScintillaNET.language.xml file as a template to define your color schemes for everything your lexer specifies.

?
Jan 12, 2007 at 10:49 PM
Notepad++ uses Scintilla for it's editor control. And it has a user defined language lexer that apparently (at least to me looking at the source code) is part of SciLexer.dll. It's using the SCLEX_USER define from SciLexer.h. Is this an actual lexer in Scintilla? I've tried Googling it, but to no avail...
Jan 13, 2007 at 11:21 PM
Try to search via Googling by the following key words:
SciTEExtras
SciTE_Ru-Board.html
CUTE User-friendly Text Editor

and also the next potentially interesting priject:

scintillawnd

All the best,