This project is read-only.

Context Menu causes keyboard shortcuts to fail

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Apr 7, 2013 at 3:04 PM
Thanks for looking. I am a total newbie so please talk to me like a child :)

I managed to get everything in and working and made my own custom syntax file. However I still really don't know how to control and code Sci.

As an example, I'm using VB.Net Express and I have an editor made and working. I decided to add some of the keyboard shortcuts to my edit context menu at the top of the screen.

As soon as I did that the shortcut stopped working. For example, I added "Comment Selected" and set the short cut to Ctrl + Q. As soon as I did that the comment shortcut no longer worked.

I added a button and made it set focus to the editor and then send keystrokes but that really isn't a solution to keeping the keyboard shortcuts if I can't display them to anyone.

I would really appreciate it if someone could tell me how I get something like comment (Ctrl + Q) working on a context menu. I'm sure it's not as hard as I think it is but after 5 hours of searching I've given up. A VB.Net example would be really appreciated.

Thanks for your help.
Apr 11, 2013 at 11:45 AM
I'm not a VB programmer, so I can't write code for you and be sure that it works, but I've done similar things in my C# application. I know this isn't a direct solution, but a very good resource is this page. I think what you may need to do is set shortcuts on your Form.
Apr 11, 2013 at 7:07 PM
Well I can send key presses to the form to make the function work but I can't assign say the shortcut key to a menu item. I really want people to be able to use short cuts not have to press buttons to get all the features to work.