Keywords are not highlighting

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Mar 20, 2012 at 1:32 PM
Edited Mar 20, 2012 at 2:34 PM

Hello, this is my first time using ScintillaNET in one of my projects.

I need to have syntax highlighting, however keywords are not being highlighted. I seem to be doing some things right.

<Styles>
      <Style Name="default" ForeColor="Red"/>
      <Style Name="linenumber" ForeColor="gray"/>
      <Style Name="comment" ForeColor="green"/>
      <Style Name="word" ForeColor ="blue"/>  
    </Styles>

The default, line number, and  comment are all working great, but the keywords are not. As far as I understand Name="word" refers to all the keywords in the List="0", right?

<Lexer StreamCommentPrefix="{ " StreamCommentSuffix=" }" LexerName="cpp">
      <Keywords List="0">example1 example2</Keywords>
      <Keywords List="1">example2 example3</Keywords>
      <Keywords List="2">example3 example4</Keywords>    
</Lexer>

However the keywords in List 0 are not highlighting in blue, they just stay red. I've tried a bunch of stuff and nothing seems to be working. I am confused right now.

Thanks in advance. 

Mar 20, 2012 at 3:02 PM

Ok, this works...

textBox.Lexing.SetKeywords(0, "private public class void");  

However how do you get it to work with the .xml file? Am I messing up the Lexer tag?

Coordinator
Mar 20, 2012 at 3:15 PM

You may need to get the latest release. There was a recently fixed problem with keywords not highlighting. Also try these changes to your styles:

<Styles>
      <Style Name="DOCUMENT_DEFAULT" ForeColor="Red"/>
      <Style Name="LINENUMBER" ForeColor="gray"/>
      <Style Name="COMMENT" ForeColor="green"/>
      <Style Name="WORD" ForeColor ="blue"/>  
    </Styles>