A Call for Feedback

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Coordinator
Aug 21, 2012 at 4:10 AM

I've tried one of these discussion topics before and I didn't get much response so hopefully this will go better...

What should be our focus for ScintillaNET? Is it new features? Bugfixes? Where should we be spending our time?

Many of you have real world experience with the control and could give us valuable feedback. Without your input we have to guess what will be of most value with the little spare time we have to do development.

Sure, the Issue Tracker tells a bit of that story already, but I hardly believe it is representative of what you all really feel should be our priority list.

Tell us what you think.

Cheers,
Jacob

Aug 25, 2012 at 1:49 PM

First, my perspective is that of a "hobby programmer." I'm not an IT pro and the apps I write are usually for my own use. I'm just a guy who learned how to use VB.net and Visual Studio.

That said, I'd like to see improved / expanded documentation.  In particular, a comprehensive article on the use of Ranges would be helpful for me. Having written a few tutorials over the years, I know how time-consuming that can be but I'd bet a lot of users would appreciate it.

Also, when coding I (and I'm sure others) often depend on VS's Intellisense when typing a keyword or parameter. Just including the value type doesn't really tell us much. A one-sentence explanation of what it does would go a long way toward making things a little easier.

That's my only complaint. You guys are doing a great job.

Aug 26, 2012 at 3:44 AM

Well IMHO based on the experience I have (I use ScintillaNet to code an open source IDE specialy designed for pawn languaje), it would be nice to have more documentation about this library as sometimes I've to guess how to do some things or try several times to achieve what I want.